Get to know Project Respect’s Director (as well as classroom facilitator), Katie!


Q: When I was a kid, I wanted to grow up to be…

A: A dance teacher.  I was in dance for 8 years and LOVED my dance teacher.  I wanted to be her, or be a drummer in a band.


Q: How did you end up at Project Respect?

A: I applied! 🙂  After returning from living in Kenya as a missionary teacher, I was looking for an opportunity to work in and with schools, but not necessarily teaching your average subjects.  This opportunity became available and here I am.


Q: What do you love most about working with Project Respect?

A: Working with students, or influencing the work that is done with students that has an impact on their lives both now and in the long term.


Q: Favorite ice cream flavor?

A: Anything with a combo or caramel, chocolate, peanut butter, with a hint of salty crunch, like pretzels — basically, Chubby Hubby by Ben and Jerry’s!


Q: What food can you not go without?

A: Coffee.


Q: What’s one of your best memories as a child?

A: Money ball.  My dad was a big baseball player and always coached our little kid softball teams.  We spent a lot of time in the backyard playing catch, fielding grounders, and giving him bruises from pitching practice.  Sometimes we’d even get to use his wooden bat from his college ball days.  To add some spice to catching practice, my dad would yell out money amounts when he hit pop flies.  Whoever caught the ball got said money amount added to their “account”.  No matter what amount we ended up with at the end of the game, he usually took us to get ice cream after to spend our earned “money”.


Q: If I could go anywhere in the world…

A:  Can I pick one place from each continent?  I love being submersed in and learning new cultures.  I have been to and/or lived in six different countries in Africa, and would never deny the opportunity to go to a new country on that continent.  I would like to go to Dijbouti, but I would also like to go to Greece, and about 100 other places!


Q: People might be surprised to know…

A: I taught myself how to play the guitar when I was in the 9th grade.  I used my flute music from band to transpose music to the piano and then the guitar.


Q: When I’m not in the office, meetings, or the classroom, I’m most likely to be found…

A: Spending time with my family, doing grad school homework, wedding planning, or trying navigate the 8 hour time difference to talk to my fiance who currently lives in Kenya.


Q: What’s playing in your CD player/on your iPhone right now?

A: Mumford & Sons: Bable


Q: How do you relax?

A: Baking, running, or yoga.  All three of these things help relieve stress and clear my mind.


Q: What was the last movie, TV show or book that made you emotional, cry or tear up?

A: Eye in the Sky.  A movie about the attacks on the Westgate Mall in Nairobi, Kenya.


Q: Given the choice of anyone in the world, whom would you want as a dinner guest?

A: I would choose any of my former students.  I always wonder what they’re up to these days.

Q: Would you like to be famous? In what way?

A: Absolutely not.  I hate being the center of attention.


Q: What would constitute a perfect day for you?

A: Spending the day on an outdoor adventure; hiking or biking a mountain.  Something that exerts physical energy, is fun, and lets you get a little bit muddy!

Subscribe to Project Respect's Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have successfully subscribed!